#1 Record

by Big Star

Original Release Date: 1972-04-24

#1 Record

It’s no wonder why Big Star’s shimmering 1972 debut became a go-to for future power-pop/rock legends like Tom Petty, Cheap Trick, and The Replacements. Primary songwriters Chris Bell and ex-Box Tops singer Alex Chilton were a brilliant team that created sing-along anthems with gorgeous guitar and vocal hooks. The horn-stoked “Feel,” the psych-folk popper “The Ballad of El Goodo,” and the soul-deep “When My Baby’s Beside Me” are downright inescapable. The acoustic-driven heartbreakers sting the most, such as the yearning lament “Thirteen” and the valentine to regret “Give Me Another Chance.”  


  1. Feel (3:34)
  2. The Ballad Of El Goodo (4:21)
  3. In The Street (2:55)
  4. Thirteen (2:34)
  5. Don’t Lie To Me (3:07)
  6. The India Song (2:20)
  7. When My Baby’s Beside Me (3:23)
  8. My Life Is Right (3:08)
  9. Give Me Another Chance (3:27)
  10. Try Again (3:31)
  11. Watch The Sunrise (3:45)
  12. ST 100/6 (1:01)

Apple Music

Release Images

Release Information

Key Value
Format Vinyl LP Album Reissue (180g)
Label Ardent Records (2)
Catalog Number CR00211
Notes Red, black, and white hype sticker from Craft Recordings All-analog mastering Comes with a plain white poly-lined inner ℗ 2019 & © 1972 Craft Recordings Made in USA. Published By: A1 to A5, B1, B3 to B6 – East/Memphis BMI A6, B2 – Koala-Birdess ASCAP Runout details: Variant 1 – Stamped vs etched state not specified Variant 2 – Stamped vs etched state not specified Variant 3 – Stamped vs etched state not specified Variant 4 – Stamped vs etched state not specified Variant 5 – Both sides are etched.
Discogs URL Big Star - #1 Record